September 16, 2021
On Friday, the prosecutors of Madera County said about charges which were against 30-year-old Briceda Sran including murder and child abuse leading to the death in connection with the death of her 4-month-old daughter.
After their 2-year-old son’s burnt body was discovered in the orchard last year, she and her husband Sukjinder Sran were charged with murder and child abuse.
The prosecution is now bringing the same charges against the mother about the death of her 4-month-old daughter in 2015. New charges will be arraigned on Sran next month.
Categories of Child abuse prevention and treatment act in California
The Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) is divided into four sections:
Physical abuse occurs when an infant or kid is injured, resulting in bruises, broken bones, brain injury, or death, as a result of physical abuse such as punching, kicking, shaking, throwing, or beating, regardless of the reason.
Emotional abuse is described as a pattern of care that has an adverse impact on a child’s emotional development over time. Threats, harsh criticism, or severely limiting the child are all examples of this.
Child Neglect is defined as the failure to appropriately supervise or care for a child, as well as the failure to meet a child’s fundamental needs, the exposure or subjection of a child to domestic violence, and the inability to offer education or make preparations for a child’s specific educational needs.
Sexual abuse is persuading, deceiving, or coercing a child by creating pornographic materials to participate in or support sexual conduct such as rape, trafficking in children, indecent exposures, or the exploitation of a child.
Law of child physical abuse in California
Child physical abuse under California Penal Code Section 273d(a), means Depending on the circumstances and criminal history of the defendant, it can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanour.
According to California Penal Code Section 273d, anybody who deliberately inflicts cruel or inhuman corporal punishment or an injury on a child that results in a traumatic condition is guilty of a felony.
The punishment may be lowered to or charged as a misdemeanour if it is determined that it was not cruel or inhumane or that it did not cause the child to suffer trauma.
The nature of the offence and the harm inflicted on the child determine whether the crime is charged as a felony or a misdemeanour. Abuse that causes a traumatic condition is a felony, punishable by two, four, or six years in prison under Penal Code Section 273d.
However, if this is the second conviction for that crime, the penalties can be increased by four years. If the child dies, enters a comatose state, or suffers permanent paralysis as a result of the abuse, the defendant faces 25 years to life in state prison under California Penal Code Section 273ab.
Child Abuse Lawyers
Our Khashan Law Firm can help children who have been abused in California in obtaining justice and compensation. We file lawsuits against the responsible people and organisations who fail to protect children or report suspected abuse.
If you or a family member has been a victim of child abuse, please contact our team of experienced child abuse attorneys today at (951)461-23387. For free and confidential consultation today.