a

Copyright 2017 Khashan Law Firm.
All Rights Reserved.

951.461.2387

Call For A Free Consultation

 

Wage and Hour

More and more, workers in cities of Murrieta, Temecula, Lake Elsinore, Sun City, Canyon Lake and Hemet have realized that they have been taken advantage of by their employer. Their employers are constantly flouting the wage and hour compensation rules for the state of California. Wage and Hour violations come under the employment law violations which arise when employers do not pay the rightful wages to their employees for the hours they worked. Even cases where the employees are denied breaks or other facilities mandated by the law of California, come under the wage and hour violations.

Most companies and businesses assume that their employees have no knowledge about their legal rights as workers in the state of California, and therefore try to take advantage of these unaware employees and deny them proper breaks or pay them less pages etc.

Most of the employment cases filed are about flouting the wage and hour laws. It is easy to file a wage and hour case, as all the required information for the case is recorded in emails or is available in the employer’s records.

Some of the most common issues associated with wage and hour laws are:
  • Not paying the required amount of minimum wages
  • Cases of Unpaid wages
  • Not paying the due overtime wages
  • Not allowing the required time of employee breaks

In California, on January 1st 2007 the minimum wage has been fixed at $7.50 per hour. It was increased to $8.00 per hour on January 1st, 2008. This includes all cities in California, including Los Angeles. Overtime is calculated for hourly paid employees after completing 8 hours in one day or 40 hours in one week. The Federal Fair Labor Standards Act and the California Labor Code states that each employee is entitled to a 10 minute break after every four hours of work. They should also be provided 1 meal break within the first five hours of worktime and another meal break if they work for more than 10 hours in one shift.

Exceptions:

Few industries like the medical industry or construction or film industry are exceptions to the above mentioned wage and hour laws. Industries in which these breaks can be detrimental to the business and its operations, they are governed by a different set of laws.

If you are unsure of your rights to wages and hours and are unaware about the laws pertaining to your industry, contact a lawyer. If you feel your employer has been violating any of the wage and hour laws in California, contact an experienced lawyer who has dealt in cases related to Californian employment laws.In case where you have not been paid the due salary or overtime, and if you have not been permitted to take breaks as mentioned in the law, contact us at Khashan Law at (951) 461-2387 for a free, confidential consultation.

Contact a Southern California Personal Injury Lawyer

The Southern California Personal Injury Lawyers at Khashan Law, we represent clients injured by dog bites, car accidents, workplace accidents, accidents on another’s property, medical malpractice and wrongful death cases. If you think you may have a personal injury case, please do not hesitate to seek the expert legal assistance you need to make things right. It costs nothing to call us, costs nothing for a consultation, and costs nothing to get us started looking out for your rights if we agree that you have a solid case.

Unexpected and unfortunate things happen to good people. Our caring legal professionals are here to help you recover the financial payment you deserve so you can get on with your life. Remember, all legal fees are based on a percentage of the award, and you pay nothing for our services until we win your case. We have three conveniently-located offices in Southern California.

Southern California Cities we serve include, but are not limited to:
Do you have questions about your Personal Injury Case?

If you are an accident victim who has been injured in a vehicle accident, in a slip and fall accident at some business or facility, or injured by the negligent and wrongful conduct of others, and need answers to your questions or to find out what your case is worth, please call us today at (951) 461-2387 for a free, confidential consultation. Or if you prefer, fill out our Contact Form. A lawyer or staffer from Southern California Personal Injury Lawyers will call as soon as possible you to schedule an appointment.

Get A Free Consultation Today!
Previous Project
Next Project